getting started 50/50 braze alloy

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ItsASecret

Greetings all.

I have been accumulating scrap with high PM content for several decades and now want to cash out.

I am hoping some of you would be willing to share insights you may have on how I might best achieve parting of the PMs. I would like to increase my return with a modest investment of time and money for PPE, glassware, etc. as well as risk - all endeavors have it. By my estimation the cost of the needed PPE and handling / processing equipment are easily justified by the increased return. I have a suitable hood / ventilation system as well that will handle the fumes.

The most immediate questions are:

??-What concentration of Nitric Acid should I purchase? This is in light of the 'special circumstance' below. I understand that I can 'always' dilute but concentration costs...
??-How much Nitric acid at the purchased concentration should I anticipate needing? Of course I would like to minimize waste and disposal issues.
??-Is my overall assessment of methods (below)correct?

I have something like 2000 grams of high purity alloy that is a mix of Au / Cu. Some is 50/50 and some 35/65. I can't reliably distinguish between the two. I also have a similar weight of Ag /Cu high purity alloy and some much smaller quantities of alloy that contain unknown portions Ag, Au, Cu and possibly other metals. All are 'high purity' virgin alloys that are used in the electronics industry. None contain tin or lead etc. All of the material is in wire and foil forms that are thin so, there is a high surface area per unit weight/volume.