Going for the gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is my first attempt at a gold recovery, please advise if my PLAN below will work.
Materials: Approximately 350g Ram fingers, 150g Slot card/any non RAM card i could find etc, around 150g of monitor board fingers. One or two old cellphone button boards sans chips.
And maybe 40g random flashing-plated circuitboard cuttings and a little whole Celeron CPU (intact now but will be removed when plated pins are stripped)
I begin with 1 gallon HCL in a bucket with hole in bottom, inside another intact bucket. There currently is just enough to cover all materials completely.
I added too much hcl due to my bucket not sitting inside the other well. PLAN: wait another 3hr 1/2 for a total of appx 4 hours of HCL soak. Adjust the buckets so less hcl will be needed to cover the material, reduce to ~ 1/4 gallon or appx 946Ml . Then add Nitric 70% qty 190Ml. Wait for material to fully reach saturation in solution. [Then when Home Depot is open get some] SMB add as needed(i know not to overdo it) to drop the gold. Wash with Distilled water thoroughly.
Question: During or after which stage(s) should i filter the product?
When gold sludge or powder is obtained, wash with HCL up to 4 times to increase purity. Further "refine" product later. Ok guys how bad is this plan? -Jared

Since you plan to do a HCl soak, why not just make it into AP (it will do it on it's own given time or add a tiny amount of peroxide only once to kick start it.) and remove the gold foils. Filter it then you have cleaner gold to deal with, and a smaller volume of AR waste to deal with, plus you have a reusable solution of AP for another "soak" of new boards you get later. A gallon of HCl will hold quite a lot of copper and can do several more boards.