Gold stuck in Amalgamite...what a bummer

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nolan

I realize that this question has been answered in other topics, but I have a question concerning the nitric to absorb the amalgamite and drop the gold. First off, I don’t like handling flagged material. I heard they used industrial grade drain cleaner to make drugs, so to avoid that hassle; I went to a lumber yard and purchased lawn fertilizer, which is 20% total nitrogen, 12.2% ammoniacal nitrogen, 7.6% urea nitrogen, 5.7% other water soluble N, 0.5% water N soluble, soluble potash 3%, sulfur 15%, and 15% combined sulfur - whatever all of that means.

First off, I’ve been painting since October 1972, up until about 6 months ago when the illegal aliens started underbidding me, thus I’ve been perpetually unemployed. Painting chemistry is not foreign to me, but this heavy metal is a whole new world. So forgive me if I am a bit redundant with some of these questions. I have read in this forum until my 62 year old eyes precipitated H2O, so I had to read in duty cycles. In removing the nitrogen, I need some assistance in this area. I read on two different strings about sodium nitrate but I haven’t found (as yet) anything with sulfur nitrate. There were paragraphs from Steve, James, Glen, Oz…I can’t thank you fellows enough, even I haven’t met you 8) On one of these, a link to another site was given that mentioned a nitric acid formula. What I need to know is how to remove the sulfur from the nitrogen. I went to YouTube and saw the video about the copper hydrochloric with another container over the top of the first, pushing the gases thru the bottom of the first container, thru water, to make nitric acid, and using the same idea with hydrogen peroxide in a cylinder. I definitely need a little assistance :idea: I was reading some of your safety stuff about using a vent-a-