how/what to obtain for starting goldrefining

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello forum
im janus from denmark.
Just saw your videos on youtube.
got interested in the process since i am in posession of about 500kg of used CPUs which contains gold
(dont ask why i just havent gotten around to cleaning out the storagerooms for old parts)

but what to get and where ?
really hope for some good helping answers since im new to this plus danish so my english might be lacking quite a bit on all the chemical stuff

The very best advice I can offer you is to get a copy of Hoke's book and start reading. It is in English, so hopefully you can deal with the language barrier.

Hoke's book won't deal directly with the processing of electronic scrap, but what it will do for you is familiarize you with the language used in chemistry at a layman's level, plus it will teach you the fundamentals of refining various precious metals. There are excellent instructions on how to test, and how to make test and standard solutions, all of which are essential to the successful refiner.

Once you understand the principles of refining, you will find a generous number of methods here on the board that allow you to refine without procuring some of the more difficult to obtain chemicals. Nitric acid is one of them. There are several alternatives to its use, all of which are effective, if a bit slower.

Welcome to the forum.

Harold

ok but lets take the matter at hand i need to extract the gold from old computer CPUs what do i need for that process and how do i make any parts difficult to obtain

what i quess i seek is a kind of step by step easy to follow guide with little or no technical matters to take notice

a kind of put in the key and start up guide if you will

What type of CPU's do you have?