I am new and made a mistake

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

teriobost

Hello. I want to thank everyone on here for all of the great knowledge I have found so far.

I was processing a small batch of pins that have gold and silver. I used hydrochloric acid instead of nitric to dissolve base metals. Now I have a bunch of silver chloride in with my gold mud.

Should I just process this like it were silver with water, lye, and sugar then reprocess from a button? Or is there and easier way to separate the silver chloride from the gold? It was low grade scrap so everything is in a very fine state.

All help is appreciated.

Hello , I'm not an expert but if you have dissolved all the base metal in HCl , I would try this 1) filter the liquid to separate Au and AgCl from the solutions containg the base metal chlorides and then 2) HCl- Cl to dissolve gold and filtering again to separate AuCl3 (aq) and AgCl (s) 3) process gold solution and treat the AgCl separately

If you do add some thing to the HCl, it might be hard to tell when all the gold is dissolved… But it shouldn’t take very much nitric or bleach. It should be a mighty pain in the butt to filter, but you should be able to separate the gold from the silver by putting gold in solution, and rinsing the filtrate

If you do add some thing to the HCl, it might be hard to tell when all the gold is dissolved… But it shouldn’t take very much nitric or bleach. It should be a mighty pain in the butt to filter, but you should be able to separate the gold from the silver by putting gold in solution, and rinsing the filtrate
Does that mean to use AR to put gold into solution or should I use hydrochloric acid and hydrogen peroxide? Or does it matter?

I filtered it and rinsed it really good with distilled water.