Inreesting PM scrap find inquartation question???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

croverto

Hi all,

Brand new here and thanks in advance to all of you, I hope to be a good contributor here as well.

I have been buying and selling precious metals for many years and recently decided to refine my own metals. Needless to say one and the other don't make you good at refining. I am reading a recommended e-book and due diligence is happening before I go jump into anything.

That said I have a large amount of scrap obtained from what used to be a steel and metal supplier, not a foundry but a guy who bought metal scrap and such for many years. He was shut down due to the EPA and his kilns were dozed over. The scrap I have obtained comes from a small kiln which he threw catalytic converters, gold plated material, everything of some value. I know this because one of the survivors (most everyone who worked there died of cancer), Told his son who I happen to know that there was a good amount of PM in this one location. he brought it to me and yes there are chunks of low karat alloys and some pieces that hold true to up to 14 karat acid tests. Now there is a ton of copper in some of the big pieces and I'm sure there is lead, silver, platinum, maybe bronze???? but many of these pieces under jewelers loupe seem to have pockets that contain gold as well. Now maybe I am confused and I doubt this is a sure way to detect gold in scrap but considering the actual karat gold found I think it's worth trying to recover.