Large scale silver plate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wlearly

Hello, newbie here, first time posting, I’ve read some great info here on the silver plate stripping, I have over 2000 lbs of the plated platters , big trays, bowels , flatware etc. all from left over estate sales. No one wants to buy the stuff any more, I will post a pic of just some of it. My question is what the community of pros here thinks about if I should clean myself or worth while at the volume I can gather in another year and truck the stuff myself to some one that would wash it for me on a percentage or buy it out right from me.
View attachment 0DB91D18-10B2-44B5-BB91-5160D4BF4E01.MOV
I am a metals hound like stacking what I have. What would you do? Thank you for any input!

Welcome to the forum.
In my opinion trying to strip silver plate is not really worth the effort unless you have nothing better to do , if I remember correctly there was a company in Germany that was buying this sort of material, especially in volume , if you can find someone to buy it as is I’d be tempted to take the money or swap it for metal to stack.
As I stated this is my personal opinion and others may have other opinions.

Just sell it as brass. I have tried for three years to find a legitimate refinery that will take this material and pay on silver and copper content, let alone the nickel content. I have failed to find one that pays in such a way that it is worthwhile to save. Better off just getting rid of it.

Flatware is worthwhile if you can collect a thousand pounds. Holloware just doesn't pay.

or buy it out right from me.
Here is a company that I used to send 1 ton batches of circuit boards to for smelting - they also bought silver plated stuff for "a bit" over copper spot price - not sure they still do that but you can call them & ask

Enviro-Chem Inc | Metal Services | Rogers, MN