Lead Iodide Mixed in with Gold Precipitate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kreis412

Kreischtech
So I finally got all the copper out of my solution made from recycled computer scrap. Mostly RAM fingers, small amount of pins. This is my first attempt at this and I'm pretty certain that there is Platinum or palladium mixed in here. There is absolutely gold here I tested with stannous. However, when I dropped the gold I got this golden rain thing goin on. From what I've heard it's lead iodide and apparently a neat experiment. I think I can remove with sulphuric acid or maybe it's sulphamic acid. I have neither. I do have drain cleaner with sulphuric acid in it but the inhibitors might screw with it. Byt the way this is AR solution dropped with smb. I denoxed sort of by accident thinking the Drain cleaner would bind with the nitric or something. It seems to have worked cause there is no more gold in solution. Please dont be too hard on me, I'm trying to learn still.
Thank youPXL_20221219_010937779.jpg