Looking for insights on rhodium and extraction methods.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RuckusAmongus

Recently had the good luck of inheriting an old mine used for rare earths and gold. Well they found all the gold and were very thorough in getting every little bit according to the XRF gun I was fortunate enough to have access to. However what was left behind is very large and notable ammounts of PGM's in the left overs. Ive puck milled enough to begin experimenting with methods to get at all the Pd, Ag, Cd, Sn, Pb etc... but for the life of me I'm having a hard time finding a true and worthwhile descriptive example on what I need to do to dissolve and cement Rh, Ru that is there. I'm new to this and the man who was kind enough to leave this to our family is 96 and he's the only one I can say for certain has that knowledge, which is now a little harder to bring up god bless him, I need to move forward. any adevice and experience on the subject would be greatly appreciated. THANKS

PGM's and XRFs are not always actual friend, even if they pretend to.
You NEED to have the correct libraries to get trustworthy results.
Arsenic are often mistaken for IR and so on.
The best is to have a proper assay done.

You need to be more specific. What is the actual ore ? Is it some sulfidic stuff, or just a rock/sand where XRF show the Rh, Pd and Ru ? You will have hard time to process ore containing significant ammounts of Pb and Cd as they are toxic and cumulative.
Be cautious with XRF results on ores. If you are persuaded PGMs are in the ore, make a representative sample and get it assayed in certified lab. Not cheap, but you will obtain relevant result to begin with.