New here, seems like an awesome place. What did I do wrong?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Whoever finds themselves reading this,

I am new to the gold refining world, but have spend a fair amount of time researching (famous last words). I have been reading through many of the posts on here trying to shed some light on what I am encountering right now. I have acquired roughly 800 various CPU's and a large array of laboratory equipment and chemicals. I finally got to the point last weekend that I was willing to try test a run of 30 CPU's to see if I could get any gold recovery. I gave them a several day Nitric acid bath, switching out the acid a couple times a day. Once all the visible gold was removed from the CPU's I washed them all with distilled H2O and vacuum filtered. I put the filtered medium back in a fresh beaker and started a 37% Hydrochloric acid bath with a few shots of 30% H2O2. Let this run over night on some heat and filtered in the morning. I was satisfied with the filtrate being pure enough gold foils to start the AR. All the foils dissolved no problem. I vacuum filters the solution and precipitates with sodium meta bisulfite. The gold precipitated fine, but it was such a small amount I decided to hold it as is to mix with my next attempt, hoping it would be a little better result.