Newbie needs help...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zorba

Hi guys, this question has surely been brought up numeral times in this forum. Anyway, because i am a real noob in gold refining i will ask this question again... Can i get an exact recipe on how to make an 100% succesfull Aqua Regia? I´ve downloaded and read "Catfish´s AR recipe", but what im really unsure on is why it needs to be Nitrate Soda (NaNO3) and not nitric acid which is the main acid used to make AR (as i have understood). I know that this may be a stupid question for you guys but since i am a noob to this and even to Hooks book, i need an answer.

NaNO3 is used because it would be the source of nitrate needed to make the AR. Otherwise if you have concentrated nitric acid then use that along with 3 volumes of conc. hydrochloric acid and possilbly some added water for lessening the excaping gasses.

NaNO3 sodium nitrate, it is the NO3 - we are using, this nitrate when mixed with H+ hydrogen from an acid, becomes nitric acid.

lets look at this , Na is a positive metal sodium, a very reactive metal, the NO3 nitrate is negative, so when we take this metal salt NaNO3, and mix it with an acid lets say sulfuric acid H2SO4, two Hydrogen positive and SO4 sulfate negative, the equation would look like this:

2NaNO3 + H2SO4 --> 2HNO3 + Na2SO4

so here we took sodium nitrate (a salt of nitric acid), and sulfuric acid, and made nitric acid, and sodium sulfate (a salt of sulfuric acid)

the same principle applies if we take the nitrate salt and mix hydrochloric acid, we will have a nitric acid and hydrochloric acid in the mix, and of coarse we have also created some table salt NaCL in solution,

here the preportions will make a difference
as we could just end up with just nitric acid and table salt

NaNO3 + HCl --> HNO3 + NaCl