Nitric gone bad.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angry

I had 2 bad solutions in succession in that my gold did not drop out. Did not know why. I recently changed my acid in my workshop using the nitric that I use in my agua. I found that it only darkens my gold and not cleaning it as it is suppose to. It is mixed 50/50. Did the nitric expire? Probably 3 years old. 5 Litre bottle. question: but that must be the reason why my gold drops failed miserably and the question is that, can nitric survive for 3 years in dim darkness and in a plastic bottle. Am I chasing flying birds with nests in trees like turtles with knees or bees with fleas. I did do the stanous but it varies, there is a time that its perfect and then it's not. I am talking minutes. Do I have gold fever. You guys already saved me once and the solution was cementing with copper. I am a noob and I still did not finish reading Hoke. I like putting things together without reading the instructions. I think that I am wrong. How can you test nitric without using the neighbors kids?

Last edited by a moderator:
Did you test the solution with stannous? If no gold dissolved, nothing will drop.
And cementing on copper will tell you too.
Is your gold pure or a carat gold? If there is a lot of silver, it may be that.