Palladium

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Toward the middle of this thread there was a discussion about Palladium Plus rings. I was wondering if anybody had an update on what alloy they contained?

update: palladium wire from the hammond I processed, which was in pieces behind a market, was not pure pd, but instead pd coated steel cable. If that weren't a kick to the gonnads enough, found that those wires that I burned to get the cloth wrap from around the wire had had the pd coating vaporize with the cloth lmao...

Best method to get cloth off from the wire is use of a medium grain sand paper that you fold over and pull wire through, gently, to rip cloth via abrasive action.

OOOhhhhh well.... :roll:

jimdoc said:
Does anybody know what other metal is in the Palladium/Plus school rings? I remember in 1981 when I graduated they were popular, but
I forget what the catalog said about them. I was wondering if they are
alloyed with ruthenium or iridium? Or maybe just rhodium plated?
I have about ten of them, and if they are ten percent ruthenium, that
would add up to a substantial amount with the price where it is now.

I am curious if anybody has an answer to this old post, those 10 rings where sold years ago. And since they were sold with other items, I never figured out the yield of those rings.

I have some Palladium/Plus and Precium rings I am thinking of selling, and would like to know if, and how much better the Palladium/Plus rings are better than the Precium. I know the Precium are supposed to be 25% palladium, but does anybody know the palladium % of the Palladium/Plus?

I have 3 P/P rings 39.5g w/stones, and 4 Precium rings 62.8g w/stones.
Also 16 grams of palladium wire from Hammond organs, plus some other organ contacts that need to be processed. If anyone is interested I will take some pictures and post in the for sale section.