Please Advise.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello everybody Merry Christmas. I am new at Gold reclining and I've been attempting gold extraction from a variety of different electronic components fingers, chips etc. I unfortunately I added everything all together in an AP solution and have been unable to recover the gold flakes because they seem to be suspended and some sort of fibrous copper and who knows what other metal substance I'm unable to filter without collecting everything in that fibrous mess. I'm attempting now to heat the solution in hopes of it dissolving everything. My question is do I have a chance at recovering the gold or is it a loss. Your help is much appreciated thank you

Merry Christmas.
So you created the mess before you found us 😏
The good thing is that gold is never lost, unless you throw it away.

The bad thing here is:
You have not given us enough information to help you.
Next we encourage everyone to study Hokes book and search the forum.
Strangely enough information you discover yourself tends to stick better.

So please tell us.
How did you treat your stuff before it became a mess in detail.
What is it besides fingers?
AP do not damage PCBs so what did you do to it.

As much information as you can remember.

Then we can assess how to approach your mess.
It may not make economical sense to do much, we really do not know.

Regards Per-Ove

I will advise to filter/decant the solution from solids (if all base metals are eaten away). Test the solution with stannous to assure there is no gold. Then you could dissolve the gold with AR, and if the content of the liquid is large you could cement it on zinc.

But without giving more information, it would be just guessing.
Stay safe and wear PPE.

Merry Christmas.
So you created the mess before you found us 😏