Processing waste from silver chloride conversion.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I’m studying and preparing to do some small outdoor silver refining, using sulfuric acid to dissolve the silver material, using hot salt water to precipitate silver nitrate, then converting it to metallic silver using lye and sugar.

I’m putting emphasis on personal safety (face mask rated for chemical use, gloves, long sleeves and pants, familiarizing myself with the chemicals, water station, baking soda and vinegar,).

I’m also working out the environmental concerns before I start anything. I’ll be using the fume trap mentioned on page 42 of CM Hoke’s “refining bible” for my first attempts. I plan to have a stock pot using copper for the acidic wastes from the precipitation of the silver chloride, just in case there might be some recoverable gold. After that, the material will go into a waste bucket with iron or aluminum, the liquids will be raised to a high ph then neutralized and disposed of, the solids will go to our hazardous waste facility.

What I’m hung up on is dealing with the considerable waste from the lye and sugar procedures. I’m assuming it would likely be a good idea to let it settle to recover any silver that may still be in there, but I’m not sure where it should go after that.

I’m thinking it “should” be safe to put it into the waste treatment bucket, since I would be adding lye to it anyway to raise the ph, but I want to check with the experts first.

Is my thinking sound?

You meant to say precipitate silver chloride, from using salt on the silver sulfate solution (unless there are nitric acid or nitrate salts involved you did not mention).

What type of silver scrap and how much are you thinking about?

Hot concentrated sulfuric acid can be some awful nasty stuff, dangerous around water, or your skin.