Question About Inquarting

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Avery

Hi,

I'm a newbie getting ready to make my first attempt at smelting some 10K and 14K jewelry. I was browsing one of the tutorials about inquarting and noticed that it was said that silver is better for inquarting than copper due to the amount of nitric acid needed. Based on some YouTube videos I had found prior to this forum, I had planned on using copper but now I'm questioning that decision.

So my question is this...I don't have "pure" silver that I could use for inquarting but I do have a crapload of pre-1965 dimes. Would it be worth just dropping those in gold for inquarting even though they have 10% copper and 90% silver or would I be better off just going with the pure copper and maybe go with silver the next time?

I haven't read much about smelting silver to get it pure but that's what I had planned to do with the dimes after I had attempted the gold smelting. Would I be better off smelting the silver dimes to get pure silver first and if so, does anyone know of a forum or resource to provide information on the most efficient way to do that?

Thanks,
Michael

Welcome to the forum Michael!

As you have learned, copper takes over 3 times as much nitric to dissolve it than the same weight of silver. It has another advantage, that if there is any platinum in your karat gold, it will "follow" the silver in a nitric leach. It's an odd property, because platinum by itself will not be touched by nitric, but when alloyed with silver it can dissolve. This helps to separate the platinum from the gold before you dissolve the gold.