Re-opening a 150 year old Gold Mine

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamW

Re-opening a 150 year old Gold Mine and solving the refining process

Hi All,

This thread will be to share my progress in an attempt to re-open an old gold mine and solve the refining process specific to my ore.

About myself, I am an industrial electrican and instrument technician by trade, and have spent a bit of time working as an operator / maintainer in the mining industry. I have worked both underground and above, and have had exposure to most types of machinery, including looking after all electrical/mechanical items in a large CIP plant.

By no means am I an expert in what I am attempting here, but I love a good challenge and look forward to any comments or suggestions you may have along the way!

This is a personal project and entirely self funded, so the budget is tight. Luckily I have some existing machinery to work with to get me started.

The Mine:
Originally discovered in 1869, it has historically produced around 4000oz of gold, mostly from running the quartz ore through a ten-head stamp and over a mercury amalgam plate.

The quartz orebody averaged 1metre wide and was mined to a depth of 30metres over a strike of 100m.

Back then, all the small underground mines in this area ran into difficulty as they got towards the water table and encountered sulphide ore. This mine was no different and was likely the reason it shut down. Luckily there is still enough unmined shallow ore to get me started before moving on to the more difficult sulphides. The surrounding mines in the area who went to cyanide recovery all reported good success, however this is currently not an option for me on this site right now.

The Crusher: