re-refining for residual gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

I am looking for assistance and direction. Im looking to re-refine furnance slag for residual gold. Im having difficulties with the terms commonly used in gold refinement processes...as Im new to this hobby.

From what I gather so far...I have dried out some of the slag ...then broke it down to a fine powder. I believe the slag is hardened molten chloride. The slag is said to contain a percentage of gold. I am unsure what method to use to seperate the residual gold from the other metals in the ore.

I would love some instructions on what method to use to obtain the gold. My chemistry background is basic. Is Aqua Regia something that would be effective for seperating the gold?

Start by following the Guided Tour Link in my signature below.

It will bring you up to speed on some of the basic terminology and safety.

Steve

where is this slag from? there was a seller on ebay selling slag from gold mining process, claiming it had gold in it, well if it did, some ole timmer made a mistake or was sleeping on the job, the ebay seller is a crook collecting this spent slag and selling to uninformed people.

do you have means to a furnace, you will need a flux, and a metal for a collector, it would probably be best to test just a sample (assay).