Refining 10k to 14k+

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zaniacscrapper

Howdy gold hounds!

I am a new jeweler and recently got a few scrap 10k gold rings from a friend. I've watched many gold refining videos and understand the process but lack the access to the high strength acids. I am really only looking to increase the karat value to somewhere around 14k to get a better color out of it. I found hydrochloric acid is fairly simply to make and dissolves a lot of the more reactive metals used in the 10k alloy (nickel and zinc).

If I were to follow a similar method of melting and flaking the 10k. Then placing it in hydrochloric acid, to get rid of the zinc and nickle, would I be left with a higher karat gold? Or would it just be too hard for the hcl to dissolve?

Haven't been able to find any videos of refining to a lower grade karat than near 24k, so any input would be appreciated!

Thanks!

There's a reason you haven't found videos about refining gold to less than 24K. It's not a good practice.

As a new jeweler, you may not have run into the problems with porosity that remelting gold alloys multiple times causes. When the metals that are alloyed with gold are melted, some amount of them oxidize. Remelting multiple times causes more and more oxidation.

So the alloys were melted to cast the 10K rings you have. Melting again to granulate the gold into cornflakes will cause more oxidation. Remelting again to make new castings causes more oxidation. When you try to finish and polish your new castings you'll probably find it difficult to get a good finish due to the porosity caused by all the oxidation.

That's why we refine gold (that is, to make it fine again), then melt it one time with fresh, unoxidized base metals to create fresh alloys for jewelry work.

For what you want to do, the book in my signature line will get you off to a good start.