Second filter of ram foils

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ssmontecarlo

Supporting Member
I thought it be best to add my pictures to this thread. Being it is the "gallery". Here is the second filtering of ram foils. I used basic SMB to drop gold out of solution. To me, it looks good. Please comment. Yall be safe today.

Attachments

• 20221009_211638.jpg
    20221009_211638.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 2
  • 20221009_211533.jpg
    20221009_211533.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
It does not look correct on my screen. The colors are off by the flash I guess, it looks whiteish.

Thank You. I have been recovering and refining for about 2 and half years. I'm still learning. Still reading. I will post a picture of the finished result and a weight. Hopefully by this evening.
I see what look like crystals of something in there. Might have some unused SMB mixed in. Gold dropped with SMB should not be crystalline enough to create bright reflections. It looks like dull, light brown/beige mud or clay when very pure. Darker brown-black means some other metal contaminants, platinum-group or tungsten.

I see what look like crystals of something in there. Might have some unused SMB mixed in. Gold dropped with SMB should not be crystalline enough to create bright reflections. It looks like dull, light brown/beige mud or clay when very pure. Darker brown-black means some other metal contaminants, platinum-group or tungsten.