silver from A/P solutions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golddigger2

Hi I have been refining gold with A/P for the last 6-8 months and have recovered an ounce and a half of good gold from fingers. I have also recovered over a kilo of copper from the waste solutions. I know that A/P dissolves most base metals and was just wondering if it is possible to recover silver from the waste solutions as some of the fingers appear to be silver alloy instead of gold.

Hi I have been refining gold with A/P for the last 6-8 months and have recovered an ounce and a half of good gold from fingers. I have also recovered over a kilo of copper from the waste solutions. I know that A/P dissolves most base metals and was just wondering if it is possible to recover silver from the waste solutions as some of the fingers appear to be silver alloy instead of gold.

I'm not a betting man but I would give you 1000 to 1 odds that those fingers are not silver. Every metal except gold and copper is white. Why do you think they are silver, just because they are white? Have you tested them?

no i havnt tested them as i said i havnt had anything to do with silver so far only working with gold. I have managed to get hold of 20 kilos of boards with fingers attached and there appears to be a lot of white metal on them. I assume it could be silver, nickel,tin, or lead im just wondering if silver retrival from A/P is possible even though with what I am refining the silver content would be low to zero. I am just trying to reclaim as much as possible from my solutions before disposal.

Chriss, did any of the older stuff have pd plated fingers?