Silver Sweeps Dissolving Extremely Slow

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SilverMac18

So I’m pretty new to this and have been watching a ton of Screetips videos. To the point of my eyes crossing 😂So here is my question. I’ve been trying to process 50 ozts of silver sweeps. I screened out all the large material first. Then incinerated the material. Then I added distilled water and nitric acid and heated. But it is taking a lot longer to dissolve then if I had formed shot with it first. So I’m assuming it’s because with the silver sweeps which is like fine dust has less surface area. So how would I go about melting this into shot first with all the dirt that is still present in the sweeps. In order to save on the nitric acid. As I’m making my own concentrated nitric which takes all day just to get 1 liter. I’ve dissolved 900 grams of pure silver for the electrolyte and it only took a day as I made shot with it and also it used way less nitric. I’m currently on day 4 with the silver sweeps and still have about half of this left. Very frustrating. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance ! Or Am I just being extremely impatient lol

It isn't all silver or it would have dissolved, and quite violently.

One thing I always do is wash any sweeps with DI water extensively after incineration, if I'm going to part with nitric. Typically I just add more silver and melt the sweeps that way, in which case I would mix in silver powder or shot with flux (2 parts borax: 1 part soda ash: 1 part silica) and the sweeps (2 parts flux, 1 parts silver, 1 part sweeps) and bring to a solid 2000 F with good stirring.

That generally parts just fine leaving the gold and most of the platinum. The Pt/Pd/Ag can then be worked up any particular way.