Smelting furnace

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twangin4u

I'm new to smelting. I've come across some black sand that I want to assay and decided to build a smelting furnace. My problem is that it's not quite getting hot enough to melt the sulphides. The flux melts but the material just gets gooey and orange. I'm using a lead collector metal and Chapman flux. Here are some photos of my home made furnace. Maybe someone can suggest any improvements to get a few hundred more degrees out of it...

Attachments

• 20210404_165611.jpg
    20210404_165611.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 205
  • 20210404_165618.jpg
    20210404_165618.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 207
  • 20210404_165624.jpg
    20210404_165624.jpg
    5 MB · Views: 206
  • 20210404_165640.jpg
    20210404_165640.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 206
Yea that will be the lid when I get more wool.. but for now I was using the bricks that u see in that same picture sitting in the ground. I just stacked them on top in a way that left a3x3 hole in the middle

I have those same bricks lined on the bottom and I'm wondering if those bricks are absorbing too much heat

I try never to use untreated quarts' wool.
Even the hardeners are only partially effective in preventing degradation.
A good layer of castable refractory cement is best.
Or you will find a very fine dust is formed that will cause silicosis in very little time.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silicosis
It also makes a bombproof furnace that will last for years.

twangin4u said:
I have those same bricks lined on the bottom and I'm wondering if those bricks are absorbing too much heat

Are the bricks soft and light, or hard and heavy? The hard heavy ones are often used to build the insides of fireplaces. They will indeed absorb a lot of heat. The soft light ones don't absorb nearly as much heat.

Dave

justinhcase said: