Some doubts on gold recovery

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingedcloud

Hello everynone. I am new to this forum, but for the little time I've been here, I know I've come to the right place to get some support in my "quest" to recover some precious metals from PCB's, which leaves me happy, because I was feeling a little unsupported trying to do something right.

If I may, I'm gonna start by telling a little bit about my background.
I recently finished my Master's Degree in Environmental Engineering and i did my master's thesis in recovering precious metals from PCB's by hydrometallurgical methods.
During my work, i tested dissolving the metals in aqua regia and precipitating the gold by means of ferrous sulphate and sodium nitrite. During my research, I've come across Hoke's book, and knew about some of the existing processes there are to recover gold from solution. However, having an academic background, I'm used to having some concrete values and experimental conditions, some characteristics this book lacks in some extent. Im not saying that that information not only but also emphyrical, result of much years of working in this "business", are inferior to some information I found in some scientific papers and articles during my thesis research, and I am more than ready to follow those instructions if that means I'm going to suceed.

After I finished my thesis, I kept reading, studying and searching for more information about hydrometallurgy and even got some powder out of some CPU's I expect to be gold. Just waiting to have material to melt it and find out :)
I have a lot of material waiting to be processed, like some more CPU's, memory sticks, motherboards, cellphone boards, etc.

But enough of my story...on to my questions:

Regarding an initial HNO3 base metals removal:
- Which mass/volume ratio should I use?