Sulfuric acid (food grade or alternative) for blueberry plants

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1sep1969

Just to let you know in advance, I'm an amateur, not into chemistry. I use Sulfuric acid (diluted in water) for my blueberry plants to keep the soil ph down. For now, I buy an expansive ph down solution for fish and plants (I'm assuming it's safe enough for blueberry plants).

I would like to get food grade sulfuric acid, but I can't find it online. There is one website, but it's super expensive (around 95% sulfuric).

Another option is (new, store bought, not used) battery acid. Many amateur blueberry growers use battery acid and they say it's pure enough for consumption and blueberry plants, and that it doesn't contain heavy metals. Apparently, purer than elemental sulfur. But it's not labeled "food grade", so I always hesitate.

I'm never going to be able to get food grade, so what can I do?

Options:

1. Is ACS Reagent Grade (Sulfuric Acid 96% ACS Reagent Grade Solution (95-98%, Concentrated H2SO4)) or Lab Grade (Sulfuric Acid 93% (92-94%) Solution, Lab Grade) good enough? Note the concentration is high, and would rather not deal with high concentration in order to dilute it...

2. Use battery acid? A hydroponic website (A guide to different pH down options in hydroponics – Science in Hydroponics) recommends battery acid and states: " Note however that most battery acid products in developed countries are also ok, as the quality of these acids demands the metallic impurities (more commonly iron) to be quite low. If in doubt, you can do a lab test of the sulfuric acid to see if any impurities are present. "