Sulfuric mess with silver plate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

disPaw

Alright. . . bring on the flames. . . I'm feeling pretty stupid over here and know I deserve it. I've been lurking for a few months and researching a bit longer. . . still accept that I'm a newb.

I deplated a buncha silver flatware using saltwater & 12V PSU. This was my first go at it and I generated quite a few filter papers. The original plan was to just burn it all up as I melted everything down in the furnace and determine my next step from there. Instead, I found the proverbial wild hair and decided it'd be savvy to incinerate everything and dissolve that in H2SO4 (well, 95% via Liquid Fire). Now I have a grainy, bubbling, black witch's brew that doesn't present any silver chloride if I drip HCL (muriatic acid) into a test sample.

Since I don't seem to have an silver in solution, my thought is to filter it down and burn the solids in hopes to recover the silver (and all sorts of other junk, I'm sure) at the bottom of a crucible in my furnace.

Is that a better track?

Lino1406 said:
Bunch = ?g amount of silver expected?

Ah. . . thanks for keeping me honest. Before & after deplating weights suggest a max of 157g.

I should add that, after posting this, I decided to test another sample with HCl. This time, the solution was quite a bit warmer. I'll have to try again. . . but, I could swear I saw the "plume" of AgCl form as I dropped the HCl in the beaker. It seems to go away after it cools down, however. It seems I'll be learning even more from this venture!

Lino1406 said:
Seems not worth the effort

I agree. If the goal is to recover silver, then the economics are against you. If I have silver plated copper, I use it to cement silver from solution. Silver on about anything else is not profitable on a small scale.

Time for more coffee.

galenrog said:
Lino1406 said: