The Pawnbrokers Guide to Testing Metals

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pawnbroker Bob

Here you go guys. Everything you need to know about testing metals from this months edition of Todays Pawnbroker.

Enjoy!

Pawnbroker Bob

Attachments

• gold testing.pdf
    3.6 MB · Views: 3,688
I've been using these same methods for 25 years.

A couple of other tips.....

A nice smooth dark river rock makes a great touchstone. Or any dark slab of microcrystaline quartz cut from a geode etc..

I keep a tupperware tub with a soultion of water and baking soda that I drop all the tested articles in to neutralize the acid then rinse in clean water.

Considering the onset of HIV, ADS Hepatititus etc... I also have a small tub with 50/50 water and bleach. All the earrings studs etc get a soak in that for a bit before I start really testing them. Play it safe.

PB

Qst...

Sure, I am going to try that myself. Good thinkin!

An old ceramic dish works in a pinch too. Just rough it up.

Yup I do recover that bleach water. =)

PB

Very smart about the disinfection procedures Bob. You continually impress me with your thoughtfulness.

Excellent article, Bob. Probably the most complete writing that I've seen on the subject.

The "red acid", for testing silver, that he speaks of, is a combination of nitric acid and potassium dichromate.

He says that there can be cadmium and/or cyanide on silver contact points and that these make it very hazardous to melt. Most do contain cadmium. None, however, contain cyanide, unless the seller was trying to refine them himself, which is unlikely. In any case, don't melt silver contact points.

His discussion of silver flake, plated out of photo fixer, is very poor and incomplete.