Two semi failed attempts, maybe someone can help shed light on what to do next.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello! I am new to refining and have done two semi successful runs. This is how the second one went:

1. I began by heating roughly 15 grams of 24kt gold filled shot until red. I noticed some of them turned different colors as if they oxidized.
  2. After I flamed them, I put them directly in 70% nitric acid and distilled water.The solution let off reddish orange fumes, was exothermic, bubbled and turned transparent blue. I believe this indicates the presence of copper. (I had this soak for days before I moved to the next step)
  3. Next I filtered it (using a vacuum filter), took the material with the filter paper and incinerated it with flux. (I did not let it dry before I incinerated. There were gold flakes stuck to black flux in my crucible so I chipped out as much as I could)
  4. Then I put the flux and metallic material in a beaker with 25mL muriatic acid, added two mL of ZEP sulfuric acid (I read this can help drop lead) then added 15mL nitric acid. The solution turned green and most all the material dissolved.
  5. I filtered it again
  6. Added sodium metabisulfite to the filtered green solution, and it turned transparent brown, let off the same looking orange/reddish gas as at the beginning and a white precipitate appeared.

Here are my thoughts:
  • The torch I used is a large butane kitchen torch, which might not be a good heat source.
  • The nitric turned blue because of the presence of copper, and the aqua regia turned green because there was still copper present. The white precipitate might have been copper(I) oxide, and the brown liquid was still contained the gold. Or the brown liquid still had some copper dissolved in it, and the white precipitate contained copper(I) oxide as well as gold.