What is this stuff?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zhazham

Hi,

I'm new to refining metals and just had my first harvest for my silver cell. It was working ok. I was able to get good conductivity, growth and all.

When i was harvesting silver, i noticed some strange color under the nice white silver chrystals. See attached picture. I saw same colour on top of some of the silver granules, what i was feeding to the cell.

Could it be gold? Silver was from gold plated items and possibly there were one white gold item too.

At first, i was using quite high voltage for the cell, as my basket filter was not so conductive. I changed to a lighter filter and was able to run cell with 3V and 1,5A.

I'm not happy with the result and have doubts of what to do with this stuff.

Attachments

• 20211118_151942.jpg
    20211118_151942.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 48
After having a nap, i came to a conclusion that i might have had short circuit..at one point voltage started dropping and crystals were growin close to anode basket. I thought i noticed it early enough but after this result, maybe not.

You really have to get all silver separated/recovered before you start the cell. And your electrolyte needs to be from as pure silver as possible. In the beginning there will be a little contamination from left over copper from cementation. After the 1st good harvest you'll have very pure crystal for future electrolytes. Start over with distilled water and HCl to get your silver in solution and separated from the other metals. Hopefully the only contaminant will be copper. Most of that will be separated during cementation. Then your next run of the cell should come out a lot better.

I make my electrolyte from sterling. Some copper in the electrolyte helps keep any lead from going into solution and gives you denser crystal growth.