What is this?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottatkinson

Hi. This is my first time posting on this forum. Recently I was gifted a bar that was porported to be palladium metal. I did a fire test and it showed no change of color so I brought it to a pawn shop as they have one of those x-ray spectrograph machine. Well it wasn't platinum exactly. I will include a pic of the results but according to my math it contains 5.9 grams of rhodium, 3 grams approximately of palladium and 1 gram of ruthenium. The thing weighs 39.5 grams and is a 10 inch or so bar. It is not plated. I'm wondering if anyone knows what it is from, and what type of value I should expect to get from a refiner. Please note we checked multiple spots on the metal with the x-ray spectrograph and received varying but consistently close to the values I posted.

Attachments

• IMG_20211202_114458112.jpg
    IMG_20211202_114458112.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 72
  • 48981008354979516881638477182495.jpg
    48981008354979516881638477182495.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 71
That's probably 100% aluminum.
You can check by dip it in sodium hydroxide (lye) solution.