Will refiners buy cement silver/ gold “mud?”

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Noob here, planning to refine silver in the spring and trying to determine my initial costs for equipment...

Just wondering if I’m able to sell cement silver precipitated out of silver nitrate and/or gold precipitated out of aqua regea. Would refiners buy it or would I have to sell it on eBay (and is there a market for it)? I’d prefer not to lay out money for a forge or an oxyacetylene torch set up, and I really have no experience with either.

Any advice appreciated

Sorry I cannot help with your questions about selling your products or metals, as I really have not been much of a salesman of these metals.
I am sure other members will give you good advice on that.

In my opinion, the real cost is your time and how much time you take in educating yourself.

With time spent educating yourself, you can learn to recover and refine these metals with a minimal cost of supplies, (costs of chemicals) making some of your own reagents at times, purchasing second hand kitchenware for the lab, or making many of the tools, or equipment, starting out without spending much to melt a few ounces of gold like a three dollar melting dish, eighteen dollar torch head and some dollars on some flammable gas...

You can start a business with good education and almost no money.
Or
You can start a business with good intentions and a whole lot of money and no education or no ideas of what you are doing...
The real key or treasure map for the gold seems to be educating yourself.