Selling my 1.1 Troy Ounce Button

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey guys. After processing hundreds of pounds of RAM material last year, I was able to come up with this 1.1 toz button.
gold_button.jpg

I need to pay my attorney, so I'm having to sell it to Midwest for 95%/spot. This is my first time selling my gold and I don't know what to expect. I'm not a refining business so most refineries won't touch me. Gary at Midwest says he's gonna shoot it with a gun and make a settlement based on that.

I refined using the AP process, cleaned in hcl, dissolved in hcl/bleach, then dropped with SMB. Based on the shape does anyone here have an eyeball estimate on the purity? I'm guessing it's at least 23k.

Thanks.

If you processed and refined just the gold fingers from the memory, probably .95+ purity depending
on your wash skills after using the AP to remove copper. If you processed the chips as well as the
fingers from the memory, it may be lower as there may be silver, etc, from the chips.

All the buttons that I sold from processing fingers and processors, were .98 to .992 or so.
Let us know what the gun says. 8)

That's quite an impressive crater in the middle of that button. For it to be 98% I don't know that you could have a pipe like that. But then again the button looks very dirty. It may be the lighting though. Do you have any other pictures?

That crater in middle is not pipe rather deformation from not thorough melt, there is some pipe, crystallization visible on spots. It was not melted completely that can be said from uneven shape. If gold would be liquid from heat it would be nice circular shape and pipe would be more like deep cavity/crack centered in middle.
Your gold may be very clean, I would just remelt it again.

Let us know how the deal with Midwest goes. From what I've heard dealing with them can be interesting.