Needing advice, tips, referrals, etc.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samuelbaldwin010

I am trying to find a buyer for the PGMS that I have on hand, it's a little over 4 troy Oz currently but should have more later as I process the PGM bearing solutions I have left. It's comprised of mixed PGM Black powder (mostly pt&pd) .

I really need advice on what's an appropriate price to charge, where to sell it; since finding anywhere local has not been fruitful and everywhere I have contacted thus far has not been interested. I am new at this and this is my first time attempting to sell the fruits of my labor, so i will greatly appreciate any tips, advice, referrals, wisdom, and the like to help me out in my endeavors.

Thank you to anyone willing to help in advance!

-Samuel

Last edited:
Samuel, first, PGMs, especially platinum, are extremely hazardous when in solution or their dried salts. We have lost too many members who have succumbed to this hazard. Please exercise the highest level of laboratory hygiene when working with them.

As you've probably found, the market for PGMs is much smaller than for gold or silver, and they have higher expenses, lower payouts, and higher minimums. It's not that they're trying to cheat anyone. It's just that the costs of doing business in that market are much higher.

Since you say you are new to this, how do you know you have 4 troy oz of PGMs? What is the source? How have you processed it? I'm not trying to be difficult, but a prospective buyer will want to know. There are members here who might be interested if you can provide more information.

We have a member here named Lou. His username is Lou. He deals with PGMs. I don't know what his minimums or fees would be like, but it may be worth sending him a PM.

Dave