palladium???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm only processing silver thus far, as i'm a newbie and am still working through my processes, and reading Hoke's guide as requested. if i ever become a jeweler, i'll let you know. :) anyhow, i ran a batch of electrical contacts that i purchased on eBay. i have gotten some strange results that i am unsure of, and would like to know what someone a lot smarter at chemistry than i, thinks. my first point is, i have used nothing stronger than nitric acid, as i was not expecting anything more valuable than silver. the solution is brown. after filtering, the solution is a bright green. and the stannous test and resulting precipitate from using copper are BLACK. and i mean black like tar. i have read that at certain times, palladium will go into heated nitric without HCl, which is what leans my thinking in that direction. after 10 minutes or so, the performed stannous test, eventually changed to a black/?bluish? color. is it possible that i somehow got palladium contacts??? or am i dealing with something else entirely?

i'm not sure that i'm ready to deal with potential platinosis, but would like a heads-up if i am... thanks in adavance, gentlemen. hope you all had a great weekend. i had lots of fun expanding my horizons. :)pallad1.jpgpallad2.jpgpallad3.jpgpallad4.jpg