Satellite TV dishes

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

I swear I used the search function, but couldn't find anything on this. Is there anything worth recovering in the small satellite dishes popping up everywhere? Thrilled to have found this forum by the way.

besides setting yourself up with a FTA rig I don't think so try selling them on ebay you might get more then scrap value or even sell just the LNB probably get 10- 20 each for the LNB (the thing your cable goes into and is facing the dish

Thanks for the quick reply. However, pardon my ignorance, what the heck is an FTA rig? I'm still a bit new to all of this.

Protocorm said:
Thanks for the quick reply. However, pardon my ignorance, what the heck is an FTA rig? I'm still a bit new to all of this.

Free to Air - Stealing Satellite signals. Recievers that can be programmed to decrypt/decode satellite encryption.

free to air is not stealing satallite signals sure they can be programed to but their are alot of actual free satellite channels theirs allot more free stuff out their then subcription based stuff as long as you have a motor for your satellite dish its easy

here is a link to true free to air channels
http://www.lyngsat.com/freetv/United-States.html

I took apart the electronic thing at the end of the arm of one of those Direct satellite dishes and I found two pins that appeared to be coated with gold and the circuit board appeared to be coated with gold also.

I was told that if it looks like gold it probably is, but checking it with stannous will always make you feel better.

Smitty said:
I was told that if it looks like gold it probably is, but checking it with stannous will always make you feel better.
Testing objects with stannous proves nothing. Stannous is used to detect the presence of gold in an acid solution, and will not react on gold in the solid.