Fantastic at Recovering, Horrible at Precipitating...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aurum197-5

photo 1 (3).JPGHello,GRF...I am a beginner/intermediate "backyard" alchemist who is recovering all types of e-waste (RAM, Green board, Ceramic/Non-Ceramic CPU Chips, pins...etc) I use a Muriatic and Sodium Nitrate mixture (~Aqua Regia). I've been exceedingly successful thus far pushing gold into solution. My stannous chloride (SnCl2) tests prove black within 1-2 seconds, however, I cannot seem to precipitate Au out of the solution I create, for the life of me.

Example -
After recovery, I start the "refining process." Pouring the Aqua regia solution through a filtration system. Chilling the (now filtered) solution below 75f to drop Ag, add sulfuric acid to drop the Pb...pour off once again and filter. In a pristine Griffin beaker, I then "drop" the filtered solution (which at this point should be somewhat void of Ag, Cu, Pb) using (in separate batches) Oxalic acid & Sodium Hydroxide(NaOH) w/heat, SMB -both w/heat & w/o, Sodium Bicarbonate and even Stump out, in attempt to precipitate Au out of solution. I have followed printed instructions and videos from (but not limited to): "indeeditdoes/Gold-n-scrap", Lazer Steve, kadriver etc.

After dropping, here's what I have so far.

A bunch of purplish/brown mud at the bottom of my beakers with crystals around the top outside edges of the glass and a hard blue top layer covering the mud.

In another solution...