Iron(II) chloride to Iron(II) sulfate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geo

Is it possible to react ferrous chloride with sulfuric acid to make ferrous sulfate. I've been thinking of trying it to see if I can make blue copperas crystals using ferrous chloride. I am not very good with chemistry and I'm sure I could find this own my own but I'm also sure there are so many on here that may be willing to give me a hand with it, I hope. :lol:

I shouldn't reply as I'm not that good at it, but I'll give it a shot.

Initially I thought about oxidizing the chloride and then let it dissolve in sulfuric, so I've searched for two set of keywords "ferrous/iron chloride to ferrous/iron oxide" and "ferrous/iron oxide to ferrous/iron sulfate" and I come up with with a couple of results:
http://www.google.com/patents/US2592580 said:
It has also been proposed to produce ferric oxide from ferrous chloride-containing solutions by evaporating such solutions to dryness and thereafter oxidizing the resulting ferrous chloride by means of air in the presence of water vapor. Such processes suffer from the drawback that the moist hydrochloric acid vapors formed during the oxidation reaction are very corrosive, attacking readily the metal parts of the apparatus with which they come into contact, unless expensive acid resistant materials are used in the construction of the apparatus employed.

And http://books.google.it/books?id=Owuv-c9L_IMC&pg=PA555&lpg=PA555&dq=iron+oxide+to+iron+sulfate&source=bl&ots=zXp_6meRld&sig=PdSnLi903VILKCHYoMuAHY9BmB8&hl=it&sa=X&ei=ViVWVIayMIiraarTgcgP&redir_esc=y to make sulfate from Iron(III) oxide.

The only doubt I have is if iron chloride would actually oxidise to (III)

Really hope it helps.