removing silver plate with a torch

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulphil1

I read somewhere on the web that a guy uses a torch to just melt the silver plating off of plated items such as silverware. The theory behind this I guess is that the melting temperature for silver is less than that of other typical metals that it is normally plated to. So I guess is that the silver just melts off and drips onto a surface and then can be collected for futher processing. Has anyone ever ever tried or heard of this. And yes, I know that many feel it is not economically feasible to worry about silver plated items, but I am just a hobbyist and not really concerned about the cost because I'm just playing around. I just want to know if this is a feasible idea. Thanks.

Paul

iam pretty sure the melting point of the base metals are close or lower than the silver depending on what type ... dont think its going to work .. i have some silver plated spoons i will give it a try but i have my doubts