10kt plus gold plated necklaces in AP?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yvonbug

I'm not a newbie at gold refining with the AR method, but I am with the Muriatic acid and peroxide method. Will it dessolve 10kt. with gold plateing necklaces?

if you add an excess of peroxide to warm hcl acid it will dissolve a small amount of gold. if the plated gold has brass base metal it will eventually digest the copper and tin but if the base metal is steel then you will have to use a stripping cell. use a magnet to see if its magnetic. as far as speed goes you cant beat the cell for stripping gold. if the material is 10k solid, AP or the stripping cell will not work.

I was watching a show called "How it's made" and it was about gold chains. They say they'er made out of 10kt gold, then gold plated at the end to give them the shine. So, basically, my little gold chains wont dessolve in AP. Right? I should do it in nitric instead.?

why would anyone plate gold with gold? this makes no sense to me. did you test to see if what you have is really gold? did you check with a magnet? did you test with nitric acid? nitric acid will slowly dissolve the inquarted material but will not dissolve gold. it may dissolve the chain but will leave the gold intact. is the chains yellow color or white?

Believe it or not many machine made chains are plated it's quicker and cheaper than proper finishing, the Italian makers have been doing it for years.