Advice needed for removing gold from copper

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kieran93

I am looking for expert advice on how to remove the gold layer from the copper base.

As a complete novice I will require any advice on extracting the gold layer. The top layer peels off which reveals a bottom film which I believe will need extracted via a chemical process.

Attachments

• IMG_0532[1].JPG
    IMG_0532[1].JPG
    1.2 MB
  • IMG_0531[1].JPG
    IMG_0531[1].JPG
    1.2 MB
  • IMG_0533[1].JPG
    IMG_0533[1].JPG
    1.3 MB
I should add I have a large quantity of these that I need to separate, so I am very interested in this forum's advice

The plating usually is that high Kieran it's more a case of how much plating is on there. It certainly doesn't look thin from your pics.

It's pretty straightforward to do it but I'd recommend a cyanide based leach in one form or another over messing around with huge quantities of acid.

On the one hand you've got a leach removing the gold and leaving the base metals- on the other hand you're dissolving all the base metals out and leaving the foils which then need processing separately.

Jon

Edit final question - how wide are these things?

Thanks for the advice, it is very much appreciated. OK that is interesting, I will do some research into cyanide based leach and techniques to use it.

They are each 25mm diameter and each one weighs 0.4 grams.

0.4g... is it hollow or was that the weight of the gold? If it is the weight of the base metal then I would suggest using nitric acid and just dissolve the base metal. (200x0.4g = 80g, 80 g copper can be dissolved in circa 200-250 ml nitric acid)