Aqua regia solution and trying to precipitate it.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lets-fish

Hello everyone I am new to all this and I have myself in a bind. I put about 4 LBS of gold plated pins(50's-60's era aerospace solding board style pins) and fingers from computers (which I removed from the boards prior to dropping in the aqua regia). I had roughly 7 gallons of solution made, which I diluted down to 2 -7 Gallons white buckets after the digestion process was complete(diluted with tap water). I added roughly 5 LBS of urea between the 2 buckets. I tested the solution and it has a PH of 2ish using PH test strips. The solution is green like a lime green when you look at the sides of the white bucket but as you look towards the center it gets darker almost a blackish. I figured if the plating is 10% of the the total weight (4lbs=64oz) that would be 6.4 ounces of actual gold, now if that 6.4oz gold is, lets say 10KT (40% pure) then I should have roughly 2 to 3 ounces. Please let me know if I am way off with my figures. I honestly think the plating was thicker though. When these pins were in the solution some of them would float to the top and still hold their shape and I could pull them out and melt them down and they would pass 14Kt acid test which means to me that the acid ate the core out. Anyways so far all I got out was 6.6 Grams of pure gold. I have used up 5 lbs of sodium metabisulfite. When I did the precipitant I used distilled water (8oz sodium metabisulfite to 16oz of water) and it was heated to close to boiling, so it was hot. When poured it in the buckets they would give fumes off similar to when I originally started the process. I don't have the shor gold testing liquid to see if there is any gold left in the buckets and I already have almost $100 dollars invested. I don't make that much due to I am active duty military and I rea