AR gold refining advice needed

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

So I'm a newbie here, but I'm somewhat familiar with the chemistry, and have read a ton of posts on here. To start off, before anyone tells me to buy Hoke's book, I already have it on order (it should be here next week) and am heading to the library tomorrow to do some more research. I'm just here to see if anyone has simple answers to a couple of questions.

I'm using the basic AR method (1:4 HNO3:HCl), neutralizing the nitric with urea, filtering, boiling, then dropping the Au with SBM (Na2S2O5), filtering again, washing with HCl again, and then smelting. My source material is gold jewelry and scrap, and I'd have to guess as an average it's perhaps 9kt (~35%). Now I've already pulled out quite a bit of gold from this, but I know (really, since I'm working with alloys that I mixed and cast) that there should be at least 1ozt more in the mix, likely more than that from scraps. In this lot I expect there to be (in order of concentration) copper, gold, silver, palladium, and nickel, as well as traces of zinc, aluminum, iron, and platinum. Everything has been grained into small shot. My main goal here is gold recovery, the rest will be sent to a professional refiner after I've accumulated enough of the waste. So here are my problems/questions:

There is still (after being in both AR, then nitric only, then AR again) metal at the bottom of my beaker that refuses to dissolve. Any suggestions?