Auric Tidings!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

I am a research scientist recently bitten by the bug... I started by breaking off connector edges from circuit boards and disoving the contacts off using a straight nitric bath. After several wash and rinse cycles, I took the washed thin, light flake and smelted it directly using a small electric kiln and a carbon crucible. I used plain borax (Boraxo) as my flux. After some work I got my first small nugget, and have been going gangbusters ever since.

I still use a nitric bath to remove gold plated copper contacts from boards, but now pour the first melt into pure water and then using aqua regia on the shot to make a higher purity sponge for my final smelting. I'm getting >98% purity. Still having trouble with Plattinum though; my buyers don't seem to mind, but I'd like to get it seperated :p

Peace!

Welcome to the forum,

It would go faster and you might get a better yield if you just directly dissolved the gold residue from the nitric leach in a minimum amount of aqua regia and eliminated the melting/granulation step. From this, you should easily get at least 99.95% purity if you do things right.

Where is the platinum coming from? I've never seen it on fingers, if that's what you are talking about. I don't think I've even seen it on connector pins. What method did you use to determine that the gold was 98%?

Hellerex said:
I am a research scientist recently bitten by the bug... I started by breaking off connector edges from circuit boards and disoving the contacts off using a straight nitric bath. After several wash and rinse cycles, I took the washed thin, light flake and smelted it directly using a small electric kiln and a carbon crucible. I used plain borax (Boraxo) as my flux. After some work I got my first small nugget, and have been going gangbusters ever since.