Black particles in with gold foils

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hammerdown

Hey Forum!

I've been recovering foils from very close trimmed boards for a few years now (yet to process-refine though), but with the last few batches I've been noticing quite a bit of dark grey-to-black fine powder-like particles filtering out with the foils once removed & rinsed from the CuCl2 solution. It even clouds up in the clean beaker once rinsed off the filters. My acid is used, but has only been used on close fingered material with no solder, components or iron bits... and is still a good amount of emerald green colored, so I know it's not becoming Iron Chloride (no browning color to the solution). I would like it if it was just super fine gold from ENIGed fingers, but I can't fathom why it would cloud up a beaker of water if it was just gold powder. It will settle over night about 80-90%, but the water still remains murkyish transparent. I know it could possibly be nickel from the barrier between the gold and copper layers, but this didn't use to be a problem before. Any ideas? Could it by chance just be from organics (like bugs) that found it's way into the solution while being processed in CuCl2? I haven't yet evaporated the water to HCL wash of the foils until I get a better idea what the very dark fine material could be first.

How I go about it is...

1st - I pull up the small bucket containing the material from the CuCl2 solution and allow as much solution to drain out of the drilled drain holes as I can, while giving a few sprays of distilled water to rinse the sides & handle of the material bucket, back into the CUCl2 bigger bucket.

2nd - I place the material bucket into a clean empty bigger bucket to drench distilled water over the material to rinse off as much lingering CuCl2 as I can and let drain.