Complete Greenhorn...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drake

Hi,
I am completely new at this. Thought I understood the process and clearly I do not.

I tried to refine some gold from old watchs, necklaces, ect. The plating was any where from 10k to 18k. A nice little pile of it. I melted it down first, dropped it in water in drips to make shot. I purchased the JSP kit from Amazon and followed the sh!+ directions that came with it. With no success. With good reasons, my lack of knowledge. Then I was absolutely frustrated and have add god knows how much of everything now (nitrate substitute, hci, urea, smb) and dont know what to do with this situation now. I would really appreciate any help and patience I hope to receive from this group. This topic and skill truly truy intrigues me and I would like to learn how to do it. If they would have ever made chemistry so cool in school I probably would have went that way much earlier.

Can you pls help. I am hoping someone would be kind enough to walk me thru how I can fix this mistake and then be even more generous by giving me a step by step instructions on how to process Au bearing ore with the Aqua Regia process as well.

Thank you for you consideration.

Sry once again thank you ahead of time for your patience. What does RGF mean? It was mostly old pocket watches and wrist watchs. I am assuming they were plated, but i really dont know.

Hi,
I am completely new at this. Thought I understood the process and clearly I do not.