Conflict in results of cyanidation and aqua regia leaching of gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aghilhaghdadi

Hi
I am a graduate student in mineral processing.
I have a gold ore that gold does not desolve in cyanidation, but it desolves (at about 1 ppm Au) in aqua regia (analyses by AAS)
I am not sure if the sample contains any gold because Fire assay does not show any gold too.
I would appreciate if any one can tell me if the result obtained from aqua regia is correct or the one from cyanidation. and why?

Thanks in advance.

anachronism said:
Are you asking us to complete your final dissertation or are you actually doing this to get gold?

my project is to make sure there is no gold in this sample and this is not an academic work.

anachronism said:
OK, are you therefore attempting to obtain a 100% effective leach?

Well, I'm just trying to figure out if there is any gold in this sample at all. And after making sure that there is some gold contained in the sample, try to exploit the gold in a suitable and affordable manner.

At 1 ppm aren’t you near the limits of detection?

Either way, read deanos posts. There are ores that are not well smelted or leached with cn because of refractory base metal oxides.

What methods of fire assay have you tried?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

At 1ppm the sample equates to 1 gram of gold in 2200 pounds of ore. (Metric ton)

I would be rrally surprised if there is cost effective recovery meathod.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

anachronism said:
I assume that you ran your cyanide leach solution through the AA and got zero?

If you mean by AA ,atomic absorption, then yes, exactly, other wise I am not sure what AA means.

Is it possible that presence of sodium or iron in ore caused different Results in determination of gold by atomic absorption in cyanidation and aqua regia leaching?