copperas

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davidjanet

Hello first id like to thank all that have come before me, and have helped so much its very much apperciated. as you have guessed im a newbie and just starting off i have read hokes book and the other one listed here it has been quite helpfull im still figuring things out, i do find it kind of hard with all the options listed here, anyway i have been trying to collect the chemicals listed and haveing trouble i live in north east ohio corner and its tuff to get stuff, i have found brand name hy-yield copperas it says on the package that its derived from ferrous sulfate and has a guaranteed analysis of sulfer 11 % combined sulfer,, with iron 19% water soluble iron it is a light green powder no crystals and from what i have read here its seams to me different from what is required to use, is this copperas different and ok to use or not , i dont know, thanks to all for any help David

You might just be talking about the particle size.

Ferrous = iron
Sulfate = Sulfur plus oxygen

So we would expect Ferrous Sulfate to contain iron and sulfur, yes?

Before getting interested in refining, I had never heard of Ferrous Sulfate referred to as "Copperas"...even though I have a modest amount of chemical experience. There are of course many, many examples of what one might call "ancient names" applied to chemicals: Aqua Regia "King of Waters"...Water Glass = Silicon silicate...Sal Ammoniac = Ammonium Chloride.

I for one am not sure why you think the smaller particle size would prevent you from using it as Hoke says. Perhaps you're being hesitant as a newbie. Nothing wrong with that.

David