Etchant's List

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I will say. This list mentions HF frequently. I won't even spell it out. I know we don't condone the use of that for refining as it really has no good use for us for all our processes. So anyone new reading the list and seeing that keep in mind it is a list made for UC Berkley, where they have lab coat's and fume hoods. Don't use HF, don't buy it, don't even worry about it. You don't need it. I remember in college my professors mentioning it, and how extremely dangerous it is.

Wow this is great!

I am by trade a metallurgical engineer and have done my real world training along side my father a very well respected super alloy metallurgist. We use Nital for basic low alloy steel cast iron etc. but when you get into super alloys especially those high in nickel, cobalt or other more exotic materials etching becomes an art. Cobalt that has been electrolytically etched looks beautiful colors are amazing.
There are times when we require a specific etchant based on the alloy chem. and always have to dig through our extensive research library to find the proper one this might help with that in some cases.

Very cool!