Familiarity tests for the noob.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cnbarr

Hello to everyone here on the forum, I'm Chris, this is my first post so I hope it is in the appropriate place. I would like to start by thanking everyone for their knowledge, dedication, and help. I am new to refining but for years the idea has always intrigued me. I have read, read, and re-read for two months straight, and after finishing Hoke's book for the second time and I tried to use her small scale format for familiarity tests but applied it computer scrap, and if this has been discussed anywhere before I apologize in advance.

I took one of the many computers I have been collecting and pulled out the ram and pci cards and clipped of the fingers (6 fingers total), cut them into smaller pieces to fit in my beaker then covered them in 30ml AP and let sit over nite. After all gold foils separated (I'm not sure of the weight of the foils my scale doesn't go that low, maybe 1/10th of gram) I then filtered, washed, and rinsed, set aside to dry. Put the foils in a test tube and dissolved in Hcl/Cl, then slowly heated to dissipate chlorine. I the mixed up my stannous chloride for testing and dipped my q-tip in then a drop of stannous and I got that beautiful purple everyone loves to see when testing.