Give me a reality check, please. :)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tquilha

Hello all.
I've been interested in precious metals recovery as a hobby for a very long time and this forum is one of the very best resources I've found in my searches.
So, I've read Hoke's book, I studied quite a bit (was nice going through some of my old Analytical Chemistry books...) and now I think I have a nice idea for my first experiments, but want to run it through you for some ideas.
I'll be processing pins from CPUs (mostly intel P4s and some mobile AMDs). As far as I know, all those pins are magnetic (kovar?)

Strip the pins from the CPUs with a heat gun, save the rest for later processing.
Soak them in 33% HCl for a week, with a bubbler to provide agitation, then decant the liquid and add some more HCl but this time with H2O2 (1 part peroxide to 3 parts acid).
Keep the bubbler going and soak until I can't detect any more magnetic material.
Filter and dissolve the gold with HCl+bleach, filter again and drop the gold with SMB.

How many mistakes do I have here? :)
Thanks for your help.

Tquilha said:
Soak them in 33% HCl for a week, with a bubbler to provide agitation, then decant the liquid and add some more HCl but this time with H2O2 (1 part peroxide to 3 parts acid).
Keep the bubbler going and soak until I can't detect any more magnetic material.
Filter and dissolve the gold with HCl+bleach, filter again and drop the gold with SMB.

How many mistakes do I have here? :)